A Somber Preclusion of Being

Vacant Eyes

Record Details

Progressive Death/Doom Metal

Record Tracklist

  1. A Colorless Eternity -:-- / 16:52
  2. A Timeless Vault -:-- / 8:44
  3. Induced Desolation -:-- / 9:50
  4. Apparitions of Existence -:-- / 12:12
  5. An Essence of Anguish -:-- / 12:01
  6. Into an Empty Dream -:-- / 15:08

“A collection of thoughts and perspective for those who share the dream of an alternate ending to existence.” – A Somber Preclusion of Being, as envisioned by Josh Moran, Vacant Eyes’ lyricist and main songwriter.

With their 2020 debut studio full length album, Vacant Eyes aims to be a catalyst to explore our most sorrowful moments and contemplate our deepest and most personal questions. Expanding upon the melodic funeral death/doom metal sound of 2014’s The Dim Light of Introversion EP, the band moves ever forward, arriving at a sound that is more progressive, creating even more dynamic and varied arrangements, though not losing sight of its roots.

The new release was mastered by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Katatonia, Dark Tranquillity, et al.) at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden, and recorded and with sound engineer Brian Westbrook at Sonic Titan Studios in the band’s home state of Massachusetts, USA. The new Vacant Eyes album finds the extreme metal outfit dedicating themselves to boundlessly crafting their own brand of heavy music, cloaked in themes of non-existence, despair, loss, and seeking truths often left unspoken. “I find a certain beauty in depression and darkness. It’s as real as it gets, and I have the utmost respect for it,” Moran explained.

Their aim is always to evolve, always to be free in their songwriting, to look into the ether, and to capture the essence of anguish.

Josh Moran (Vocals, Guitars, Cello)
Alex Smith (Guitars)
Grim Riley (Bass)
Chris Kudukey (Drums)
Mark Richardson (Keyboards)

All tracks composed and performed by Vacant Eyes.
Lyrics by Josh Moran.
Guest vocals on “Into an Empty Dream” by Jessica Rose.
Recorded and mixed by Brian Westbrook at Sonic Titan Studios.
Mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios.

Logo by Gragoth.
Front cover artwork by Kishor Haulenbeek.
Back cover image by Chris Kudukey.
Band photograph by Suz Manning and Darcy Stall.
Layout by Alex Smith.

Our sincere thanks to our loved ones, families, Brian Westbrook, Jess,
Promotorhead Entertainment, Alternate Mode, everyone who has supported the band,
and to all who experience this music with us.

  1. An Essence of Anguish Vacant Eyes 12:02
  2. A Colorless Eternity Vacant Eyes 16:53
  3. Silent Acquiescence Vacant Eyes 3:40
  4. Indifference Vacant Eyes 12:00
  5. The Cortex Vacant Eyes 9:50
  6. The Dim Light of Introversion Vacant Eyes 8:54